So How Does One Elect A NUI Senator?


Of the 60 members of the Seanad, three are elected by graduates of the National University of Ireland. These are currently Senator Prof. John Crown, Senator Fergal Quinn and Broadsheet favourite Senator Ronan Mullen (above).

But how do you get to vote? According to the NUI Election website

Every person who is a citizen of Ireland and has received a degree (other than an honorary degree) in the National University of Ireland is entitled to be registered as an elector in the NUI register of electors.

That’s all well and good, but how do you get on the register?

I have  a BSc and MEngSc from NUI and I’ve never received a voting form.

Luckily McGarr Solictors shows us how easy it is:

Fill out this form

Post it to The National University of Ireland, 49 Merrion Square, Dublin 2

The best thing about this vote? It’s postal so you can partake no matter where in the world you are.

Now that’s democracy.

You need to be on the register by February 2013, but sure why not do it today in case the government falls before then?

NUI Seanad Register
Voter Registration Form