A touch of urbex in Mulgrave Street, Limerick.
Photographer Donal Moloney writes:
Limerick Lunatic Asylum was founded in 1827. It was originally built to accommodate 150 patients. “Lunatics”, “imbeciles” and “idiots” as they would have been described by the authorities of the day, the asylum had 337 patients. By 1848 its population exploded to over 1,000 and kept growing. Ireland was the first nation to legislate for the provision of facilities for the mentally ill, and as such the Asylum stands as one of the first large institutions for the insane in the western world. In 1959 the complex became better known as St Joseph’s Hospital. Much of it today is lying derelict.