Tag Archives: seanad elections

This morning.

At Dublin Castle.

Fine Gael’s Seán Kyne retains his Seanad seat in the Seanad election. He’s the first person to be elected to the 26th Seanad.


Yesterday: Meanwhile In Dublin Castle


Fianna Fáil’s Malcolm Byrne, Fianna Fáil’s Lisa Chambers, Fine Gael’s John McGahon and Sinn Féin’s Fintan Warfield have also been elected to the Seanad.

The count for the agricultural panel will begin at 4pm.

Watch the count live here.

90416599 9041659690416601

This afternoon.

Counting for the Seanad elections in Trinity College Dublin.

Do you remain confused by the Seanad electoral process?

Don’t worry. It’s designed that way.

There are 60 seats in the senate.

Six senators are elected by graduates —  three each by the National University of Ireland and Trinity College Dublin.

43 are elected by local councillors, TDs and out-going senators to five panels [culture and education, agriculture, labour, industry and commerce, and public administration].

And 11 senators are nominated by the Taoiseach, whomever that might be.

Unfair Fight!!

Former TDs secure Seanad seats as election count continues (breakingnews)

Sam Boal/Rollingnews


‘Democracy’ calls.

This afternoon.

Dublin 2.

Sam writes:

Trinity Graduate and seanad candidate Averil Power, has a message for those who are eligible to vote in the upcoming Trinity Seanad Election…

Up to 10,000 voter cards that were delivered by registered post were returned to sender, as recipients were away from home.

Those who wish to take part in the election must make contact with Trinity College and get their card sent again.

Sam Boal/Rollingnews