Tag Archives: ceann comhairle

Oh, it’s on.

Earlier: Arriving In Style

Independent TD Denis Naughten

This morning.

Independent TD for Roscommon/Galway Denis Naughten, who resigned from his position of Minister for Communications in October 2018 after it emerged that he had a series of private meetings with the last remaining bidder for the National Broadband Plan project, announced that he would like to become the next Ceann Comhairle, writing:

Dear Colleague,

I am writing to inform you that I have submitted my nomination to seek the role of Ceann Comhairle of the 33rd Dáil.

The reason I am putting my name forward for the role of Ceann Comhairle is because one of the consistent messages I received on the doorsteps during the recent General Election was the public frustration with accountability.

In an open, questioning culture, we need an effective and questioning parliament.

Getting straight answers to straight questions is becoming more difficult in Dáil Éireann. This is reflected by that public frustration.

While the office of Ceann Comhairle is very restrictive in terms of the reform of Dáil Éireann and the role of TDs, one of the primary functions of this office is to protect the existing rights of members.

In the past I have been involved in Dáil Reform and have participated on an informal committee supporting the rights of members of Dáil Éireann. This is something I would like to expand upon in cooperation with colleagues.

I have been more than happy over the years to provide advice and assistance to new members, regardless of political beliefs, because I firmly believe there is a responsibility on every member to support less experienced colleagues in doing the best job they can as a member of Dáil Éireann.

If I had the honour to be elected to the post of Ceann Comhairle I would only serve one term because my purpose for taking on this role is to re-establish the authority of individual parliamentarians in the interests of our democracy.

I intend to outline how I believe this can be achieved on the floor of the House and I would ask you to keep an open mind on which candidate you will be supporting until you have had the opportunity to hear my contribution.

Ceann Comhairle of the 33rd Dáil (Denis Naughten)

Previously: “I Didn’t Wilfully Or Any Other Way Mislead The Dáil”

More Dinners

Breaking His Own Rules

“The Rules Were Not Broken”

“He’s To Come Back To Me With A Few More Answers”

Dáil chamber

Jennifer Bray, in The Irish Times, reports:

A report into the Dáil voting controversy is to be published today following discussions by the clerk of the House with four Fianna Fáil TDs involved.

The Dáil’s Committee on Procedures will meet today at 9am and the report will be published soon after.

Mícheál Lehane, of RTÉ, reports:

It is understood that the report, which was prepared for the Ceann Comhairle on the Dáil voting controversy, will be unable to recommend disciplinary action because the matter is also under investigation by another Dáil committee, and any sanction could prejudice that work.

The Dáil will also be debating the report this afternoon [at 2.25pm], and TDs who are the subject of the report will have an opportunity to make a statement.

Dáil clerk’s report on Fianna Fáil voting incident to be published (Jennifer Bray, The Irish Times)

Report due into Dáil voting activity (Mícheál Lehane, RTÉ)


Daniel McConnell, of The Irish Examiner, tweetz:

Breaking: Conclusions of Oireachtas report into irregular voting in Dail Eireann last Thursday, as discussed by Committee on Procedure and Privileges.

Breaking: Dail report into voting scandal concludes a wider review of electronic voting system, demands TDs must be in their allocated seats.


Fianna Fáil’s Seán Ó Fearghail in the Dáil this afternoon

Fianna Fáil’s Seán Ó Fearghail has been elected as Ceann Comhairle of the 32nd Dáil.

On the fourth count, Mr Ó Fearghail gained 13 votes, bringing his tally to 74. Fine Gael’s Andrew Doyle gained 10 bringing his to 58.

There were 19 non-transferable votes.

Previously: Business Of Order

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 11.25.15

This morning.

The Dáil chamber as members vote for the new  Ceann Comhairle – for the first time by secret ballot.

More as we get it.



This morning.

Leinster House, Dublin 2

From top: Kate O’Connell (Fine Gael), Eamon Ryan and Catherine Martin (Green Party)  Richard Boyd Barrett (AAA/PBP), Alan Kelly (Labour).

Leah Farrell/Rollingnews