Tag Archives: Choice Music Prize

This afternoon.

On RTÉ 2FM’s Tracy Clifford Show.

The shortlist for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2019, in association with IMRO & IRMA, was announced by Jim Carroll, chairman of the judging panel.

To wit:

DaithiL.O.S.S. (Strange Brew)

Mick Flannery Mick Flannery (Rosaleen Records)

Fontaines D.C.Dogrel (Partisan Records)

Girl Band The Talkies (Rough Trade)

Jafaris Stride (DFL)

Junior BrotherPull The Right Rope (Strange Brew)

Lankum The Livelong Day (Rough Trade

Soak Grim Town (Rough Trade)

Maija Sofia Bath Time (Trapped Animal)

Sorcha Richardson – First Prize Bravery (Faction Records)

The Irish Album of the Year 2019 will be revealed at a Live Event on Thursday March 5, 2020 in Vicar Street, Dublin and will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four hour extended programme from 7-11pm,

The Irish Album of the Year award is chosen by a panel of twelve ‘Irish music media professionals and industry experts’


Also: G’wan the Rough Trade, in fairness.

RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2019


The annual Choice Music Prize live event has been announced, with performances from nominees highlighting an event going out live over 2fm and in a prime-time special the week after on RTE2.

Slated for live appearances: All Tvvins, Bantum, Wallis Bird, Katie Kim, Overhead, The Albatross, Rusangano Family and We Cut Corners.

Writes Liza Geddes:

The Irish Album of the Year 2016 shortlist can be listened to in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website and on 2fm’s website. The winning album will be announced at the live event on Thursday 9th March. As part of the new partnership with RTÉ, the event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2fm in a special four-hour extended programme from 7-11pm and on RTÉ2 as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize TV programme, approximately one week later.

RAAP, Culture Ireland, The BAI & Golden Discs are also official project partners.

Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of influential overseas Industry executives to attend the Choice Music Prize Live Event, while Golden Discs will feature special stands showcasing the RTÉ Choice Music Prize nominees across their stores nationwide from next month.

Previously on Broadsheet: The Choice of Choice


The shortlist for the recently-rechristened RTÉ Choice Music Prize is out.

Previous winners in recent years have included SOAK, The Gloaming and Villagers, with former gong-holders including The Divine Comedy, Two Door Cinema Club and Jape.

This year’s shortlist:

All Tvvins – IIVV (Warner Music)

Bantum – Move (Self Released)

Wallis Bird – Home (Mount Silver / Caroline International)

The Divine Comedy – Foreverland (Divine Comedy Records)

Lisa Hannigan – At Swim (Hoop Recordings)

Katie Kim – Salt (Art For Blind Records)

James Vincent McMorrow – We Move (Faction Records)

Overhead, The Albatross – Learning to Growl (Self Released)

Rusangano Family – Let The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)

We Cut Corners – The Cadences Of Others (Delphi)

To mark the occasion, RTÉ 2fm is playing all Irish music, all day, until midnight, with a CMP special at 8pm.

By the way – Broadsheet’s tip for the top?

Rusangano Family, one of our joint Albums of the Year from 2016.

Stream all the entrants at the website.

U2 join Sinead O’Connor, Damien Rice, Delorentos, James Vincent McMorrow, The Gloaming, We Cut Corners, Rip Tide Movement and Hozier on the shortlist for the 2015 Choice Music Awards [Irish album award].



Broadsheet friends Doris/Magee do a quick word association game with the Choice Music prize 2014 nominees.

Starring Lisa O’Neill, O Emperor, Bell X1, Villagers, And So I watched You From Afar, Little Green Cars and Girls Names.

The Choice Music prize winner is announced on Saturday night TONIGHT

O Emperor Favourites To Win Choice Music Prize (RTETen)



Viacar Strret, Dublin tonight.

John Gallen writes:

Villagers won….


What do you mean you ‘weren’t invited’?

The launch of the 2013 Choice Music Prize sponsored by Meteor tonight at 4 Dame Lane, Dublin, with host Tony Clayton Lea (pic 3) and shortlisted acts, from top: Soak, Gavin James and Heathers.

We then repaired to the bar to exercise a woman’s right to booze.

 Meteor Choice Music Prize 2012 Song of the Year shortlist announced (GoldenPlec)

Pics: Emily

Choice Music Prize nominees: The Coronas – Mark My Words;Delorentos – Care For; Glen Hansard – High Hopes; Heathers – Forget Me Knots; Gavin James – Say Hello; Kodaline; Le Galaxie ft. Elaine Mai – Love System; The Script – Hall Of Fame; SOAK – Sea Creatures; Villagers – Waves