Tag Archives: post-rock


The Redneck Manifestoback catalogue reissues for Dublin post-rockers

What you may need to know…

01. Last we checked in with Dublin instrumentalists The Redneck Manifesto, they’d taken to stage at Clonakilty Guitar Fest ahead of getting in shape for a new record.

02. While there’s no further announcement on that front as of yet, the band have released their complete discography to date on streaming services as of this week, as announced through a post (and with a special playlist) on Nialler9.

03. Streaming above is the title track from 2005 long-player I Am Brazil. The band’s music is available now across Apple Music/iTunes, Spotify, Google Music and Tidal.

04. Live dates are happening next month. February 15th and 16th at Whelan’s, the latter being sold out; the 17th at the Roisín Dubh in Galway, and the 18th, at Dolan’s in Limerick.

Thoughts: A distinguished body of work that helped set the precedent for a generation of instrumental music from this island. Well worth the revisit ahead of new tunes.

The Redneck Manifesto


Overhead, the AlbatrossDublin post-rockers cover Hans Zimmer’s Time

What you may need to know…

01. Last we checked in with Overhead, the Albatross, they’d just launched their absolutely immense debut LP Learning to Growl.

02. Today, the band has released a wee stopgap between now and their big December gig in Vicar Street: their first ever attempt at a cover. Hans Zimmer’s Time, accompanied by Charlie Chaplin’s final speech from The Great Dictator. For the time that’s in it.

03. The video for same, directed by Luke Daly, is streaming above.

04. The band’s big year-end excursion happens at Vicar Street, December 9th. Tickets €20 plus various service fees.

Verdict: A brave take on a masterpiece, layered over with the pep-talk humanity needs at present.

Overhead the Albatross


Zincdebut album from Galway trio

What you may need to know…

01. Galway post-rock/electronica trio Zinc have brought those bordering-on-arrogant grooves you ordered.

02. Forming in 2014, the trio quickly set about jamming out melodies and textures in equal measure, and empowered by a Galway City Council grant last year, put down their first full-length this year, with production from Solar Bears’ Rian Trench.

03. Streaming above is the band’s eponymous debut album, available now for download via Bandcamp.

04. Having launched the long-player with gigs at Galway Jazz Festival and the An Áit Eile weekender this past week, more dates are to be announced shortly.

Verdict: Sparse soundscaping meets unnecessarily fat bass and some seriously cocky percussion. Possibly one of the year’s low-key highlights.



YonenDublin instrumentalists gigging this week

What you may need to know…

01. Dublin four-piece Yonen ply an exploratory, proggy, and in places jazzy take on post-rock.

02. Formed after those involved were inspired to do so, upon seeing Japanese instrumental trailblazers Toe perform, they quickly set about releasing a performance video for debut single Nuatum.

03. Streaming above is the band’s most recent single, Sanctos, available for free/pay-what-you-want download via Bandcamp. The whole odyssey was recorded live (!) at Volt Studios and mixed by the band’s guitarists.

04. Catch them this Thursday night at the Roisín Dubh in Galway supporting Brighton’s Poly-Math, and this Saturday night at the Spirit Store in Dundalk, headlining the main stage of the venue’s Oktoberfest proceedings.

VERDICT: Taking elements of the post-rock and math-rock oeuvres and repositioning them as suits the moment, like kids with Lego, Yonen are a joyful proposition to take in.



The Redneck Manifestoplaying new songs at Clonakilty Guitar Fest this weekend

What you may need to know…

01. At last, an excuse to talk about veteran Dubland instrumentalists The Redneck Manifesto.

02. Coming together in 1998 from other bands on the Dublin scene at the time, they self-released numerous singles before dropping their debut full-length, Thirtysixstrings to massive acclaim. Companion piece Cut Your Heart Off From Your Head surfaced the following year. Third full-length I Am Brazil released in 2004, recorded in France’s Black Box Studios.

03. Streaming above in its entirety is the band’s most recent full-length, Friendship, released in March of 2010 via the sadly-missed Richter Collective.

04. Appearing live this Sunday in their only date this year at DeBarra’s in Clonakilty, as part of the Clonakilty International Guitar Festival. New material has been promised. Tickets available NOW.

VERDICT: One of the finest bands in the land, and one that’s stayed DIY all this time, to boot. Word of new stuff is most encouraging also.

The Redneck Manifesto


Overhead, the AlbatrossBig River Man (from new album Learning to Growl)

Here’s what you may need to know…

01. At long bloody last. Dublin instrumental six-piece Overhead, the Albatross have finally announced their debut full-length record, entitled Learning to Growl, for release on May 13.

The band have unleashed singles and snippets from live sessions, but single Big River Man, released last November, was the first indication of what the outfit have really had up their sleeve. A lush, eight-minute excursion with a grandiose video to match, streaming above.

Another leadoff single is due this day next week, with a teaser for the video here. We’ll keep you posted.

Ahead of that will be a big gig in Dublin on Saturday April 9th, at the Workman’s Club, where the band finishes what they started at their last show, before a power cut took out the venue and stopped the band.

Verdict: What we’ve heard from the band over the years, and the rep they’ve developed, has been  a prelude to this record, and Big River Man may well only be the tip of the sonic iceberg. Roll on, May 13.

Overhead, the Albatross