Tag Archives: New York

This afternoon.

Water Street, Brooklyn, New York.

Emily Logan tweetz:

Ruth Negga looks on from this theatre under Brooklyn bridge as people sign up to a waiting list in the hope of a cancellation to see her in Hamlet…


 Review: In ‘Hamlet’, Ruth Negga rules as a Player Prince (New York Times)

Hamlet (St Ann’s Warehouse)

A rather impressive ‘crowdsourced hyperlapse’ video of New York compiled by Sam Morrison from over 1,300 iconic/stereotypical photographs of the city harvested from Instagram. To wit:

Classics are classic for a reason. We’ve all taken these photos. What happens when everything in the world has been photographed? From multiple angles, multiple times per day? Eventually we’ll piece those photos and videos together to be able to see the entire history of a location from every possible angle.


US Army veterans Ken Mayers and Tarak Kauff; President Michael D Higgins at the New York Library; and Zaidie Mayers speaking to President Higgins in New York

Two US army veterans and members of Veterans For Peace, Ken Mayers and Tarak Kauff, aged 82 and 77, were arrested on St Patrick’s Day at Shannon Airport.

It followed them protesting against the continued use of the airport by the US military.

They’re accused of causing €2,500 worth of criminal damage to the airport’s perimeter fence, as well as unlawfully trespassing into a taxiway.

They’re now awaiting trial and, on Monday, appeared before Ennis District Court, with the court hearing that they’ve sought a transfer of the case from Clare to Dublin.

Their case will be up for mention again on October 29 – when a date for a hearing of the transfer application will be set.

Last week they took part in a ‘Boots On The Ground For Freedom’ walk – in protest against the use of Shannon Airport by the US military.

Further to this…

Yesterday, in New York.

President Michael D Higgins was doing an interview with WYNC, during which Ellen Davidson, wife of Tarek Kauff, rang into the show.

Ms Davidson, who lives in Manhattan but is currently based in Dublin, said:

“I understand President Higgins is a big supporter of Irish neutrality so I’m wondering why the Irish Government is allowing US military flights to go through Shannon Airport in violation of that neutrality, bringing troops to the Middle East, to the wars that cause the refugees he’s been talking about.

“And, also, about the case of two US veterans who did a peaceful protest against those flights in March and they’ve been held in Ireland ever since, without their passports, on very minor charges, for a peaceful protest.”

President Higgins responded:

“Yes, I think that your caller will know these are issues, when I was a member of parliament, I spoke and acted very often. I do think that the issue – the two people whose case I am familiar – is a matter for Government and I will draw the attention of Government to it.

“But you’ll appreciate that as president, I cannot interfere in the  executive decisions of Government.”

Meanwhile, also yesterday…

At the New York. Library.

President Higgins took part in an interview with journalist and senior writer at the New York Times Dan Barry.

After the interview finished, Zaidie Mayers, the granddaughter of Mr Mayers, approached President Higgins and raised her granddad’s case.

President Higgins said:

“I’ve read about the two people who were on that walk. I’ll see what I can do.”

Related: Ex-US military men seek to have Shannon security-breach trial transferred to Dublin (Gordon Deegan, The Irish Examiner)

Previously: Story Of Why

Thanks Niall Farrell

Donald Tusk tweetz:

Standing together with [Irish] PM Leo Varadkar in New York. We continue looking for how to avoid a disorderly Brexit.


Taoiseach Leo Varadkar speaks to journalists ahead of the UN Summit on Climate Change in New York


Varadkar to tell UN that carbon tax revenue will be ring-fenced for climate action (RTE)

Previously: Religious Fervour

Pic: Cormac Quinn

Poster for Irish artist Shane Berkery’s solo exhibition ‘Figures’ in New York; from the exhibition


Irish artist Shane Berkery’s first solo exhibition ‘Figures’ opens in New York City.

It will open at Contra Galleries on 122 West 26th Street.

Shane, who was born in Tokyo, to an Irish dad and Japanese mum – and lived in the US and Japan until he was 14, when he moved to Ireland – famously created a nude diptych of himself and the then director of the National College of Art and Design (NCAD) Prof Declan McGonagle in 2015.

He said he painted it as a “light-hearted” protest against how the college was being run.

Shane, from Killiney, Co Dublin, ended up removing it from his end-of-year exhibition at the NCAD in June 2015.

A few months before he removed it, students occupied the board room and staff room at the NCAD on Thomas Street in Dublin because of concerns over the commercial direction of the college’s management.

Previously: Penis Is Mightier Than The Sword

What Shane Did Next

Ian Paisley Jnr

Brendan Hughes, in The Irish News, reports:

Ian Paisley billed a Belfast charity for almost £6,000 to fly first-class to a peace conference in New York.

Others travelling to the event from Ireland and Britain, including tánaiste Simon Coveney, flew in economy – more than 10 times cheaper in price.

Political opponents branded the DUP MP “truly shameless” for recouping the high-cost travel from a charity.

It is Mr Paisley’s latest lavish trip controversy after months of criticism and parliamentary probes over holidays in the Maldives and Sri Lanka.

Ah here.

Ian Paisley claimed £6,000 from charity for first-class trip to New York (The Irish News)

Previously: Under The Spotlight Again

There Had Been Rumours

Pic: BBC

ABC 7 reports:

The New York Police Department is responding to reports of an explosion of unknown origin at the Port Authority Bus Teriminal in Manhattan.

The A, C and E lines are being evacuated at this time.

What police sources describe as a possible pipe bomb detonated in a passageway below ground at the Port Authority.

One person is in custody. Only a few injuries have been reported.

Explosion reported at New York Port Authority Bus Terminal (ABC 7 Eyewitness News)

Pic: ABC 7